In a last over drama against India at the Hagley Oval in Christchurch on Sunday, South Africa won by three wickets. India did not qualify for the semi-finals as a result of the loss, as West Indies edged them out by one point in the points table. Deepti Sharma kept things close in the last over, capturing a wicket on a no-ball that resulted in a free-hit. The South African batsmen took full advantage of it, winning the match on the last ball. Mignon du Preez, who was not out on 52, was instrumental in the pursuit. Australia, South Africa, England, and the West Indies have advanced to the semi-finals.

Harmanpreet Kaur provided a huge help for India on all fronts, capturing two crucial wickets, causing two magnificent run-outs, and scoring 48 runs with the bat. In the first innings, Shafali Verma, Smriti Mandhana, and Mithali Raj all scored fifties to help India reach 274/7 in 50 overs. India and South Africa each made two changes to their respective final XIs. Jhulan Goswami was replaced by Meghna Singh for India, while Punam Yadav was replaced by Deepti Sharma. Lara Goodall took the place of Tazmin Brits for South Africa, while Masabata Klaas took the place of Tumi Sekhukhune.