The India allrounder Washington Sundar has been included in Tamil Nadu’s team for the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, which begins on November 4. Washington is currently rehabbing from a finger injury that forced him to miss the England Test series, as well as the Indian Premier League and the T20 World Cup in the UAE.

The defending winners are Tamil Nadu, who defeated Baroda in the final of the 2020-21 season in Ahmedabad earlier this year. Dinesh Karthik, who has been a part of both of their title victories, will lead the team, with all rounder Vijay Shankar as his deputy. Vijay has been out of the IPL since being pulled out because of a tight relationship with fast bowler T Natarajan, who is recovering from Covid-19.

B Aparajith, wicketkeeper-batter N Jagadeesan, power hitter Shahrukh Khan, and fast bowler Sandeep Warrier, who will be playing his second season with Tamil Nadu after a transfer from Kerala, are some of the other significant players in the Tamil Nadu side. B Sai Sudharsan, the batter, and P Saravana Kumar, the seamer, are both rookies who shone in the Tamil Nadu Premier League.

Tamil Nadu, who are in Group A, will begin their campaign against Maharashtra on November 4th, the tournament’s first day. Goa, Punjab, Odisha, and Puducherry are the other teams in the group.

Squad: Dinesh Karthik (capt), Vijay Shankar (vice-captain), Washington Sundar, T Natarajan, Sandeep Warrier, R Sai Kishore, B Aparajith, N Jagadeesan, M Ashwin, Shahrukh Khan, Hari Nishaanth, M Siddharth, Ganga Sridhar Raju, M Mohammed, J Kousik, R Sanjay Yadav, R Silambarasan, R Vivek Raj, B Sai Sudharsan, P Saravana Kumar