Even as the 14th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) approaches its conclusion, the United Arab Emirates is preparing to host the much-anticipated T20 World Cup. From October 17 to 22, eight teams will compete in the qualifying round. The top 8 teams have already qualified for the Super 12 round, and those teams will begin their preparations with warm-up matches during this time. The schedule for the event has been released, and the matches will be held on only two days, October 18 and 20, with four matches per day. In the lead-up to the Super 12 round, which begins on October 23, each team will play two matches.

In their warm-up matches, Team India will face England and Australia, which is advantageous for the team considering the strength of both sides. Pakistan will face the defending champions West Indies and South Africa in the Super 12 stage before facing their arch-rivals.

In their other warm-up match, Australia will face New Zealand, while England’s other warm-up match will be a rematch of the World Cup 2019 final. A total of eight matches will be contested over two days in Dubai and Abu Dhabi. Apart from the main tournament, Star Sports has declared that India’s warm-up matches will be broadcast starting October 17.


October 18, Monday – Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi

  • Match 1 – Afghanistan vs South Africa – 3:30 PM IST


  • Match 2 – New Zealand vs Australia -7:30 PM IST

October 18, Monday – Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai


  • Match 3 – Pakistan vs West Indies – 3:30 PM IST


  • Match 4 – India vs England – 7:30 PM IST

October 20, Tuesday – Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi


  • Match 5 – England vs New Zealand – 3:30 PM IST


  • Match 6 – South Africa vs Pakistan – 7:30 PM IST

October 20, Tuesday – Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai


  • Match 7 – India vs Australia – 3:30 PM IST


  • Match 8 – Afghanistan vs West Indies – 7:30 PM IST