In the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy match between Manipur and Vidarbha, ambidextrous spinner Akshay Karnewar bowled four overs without surrendering a run and scalped two wickets. He bowled a 4-4-0-2 spell against Manipur, becoming the first bowler in men’s T20 cricket history to give zero runs in his whole quota of overs. In international T20 cricket, let alone domestic and franchise T20 cricket, this achievement has never been accomplished. Vidarbha batted first and amassed a massive 222 runs in just 20 overs. Jitesh Sharma and Apoorv Wankhede, respectively, scored unbeaten 71 and 49 runs. Manipur was bowled out for 55 runs in 16.3 overs in response. The match was won by Vidarbha with a score of 167.

With three matches remaining, Vidarbha leads the Plate Group with 16 points, four more than Nagaland, Tripura, and Meghalaya. Andhra Pradesh holds the T20 record for the greatest margin of victory, having defeated Nagaland by 179 runs in the 2019 edition of the tournament. Following the batsmen’ onslaught, Vidarbha’s bowlers stepped up to the plate, with left-arm spinners Akshay Karnewar and Atharva Taide claiming two wickets each without allowing a run. Karnewar bowled all four of his overs for a maiden, while Taide did not allow a run in his one over and took two wickets.

Only two Manipur batters reached double figures: Karnajit Yumnam (18) and skipper Narsingh Yadav (10). Karnewar broke the back of Manipur’s batting lineup by taking the wickets of S Laiphangbam and Johnson Singh. Manipur’s run rate was less than four runs per over thanks to his four maiden overs. The wrist-spinner has six wickets in four outings and has been a steady performer for Vidarbha in domestic cricket. Venkatesh Iyer of Madhya Pradesh bowled a 4-2-2-2 stint against Bihar earlier in the day. He may be included in India’s T20I team for the forthcoming home series against New Zealand. This will be Rahul Dravid’s first full-time task as India’s head coach. The BCCI will also name India’s new Twenty20I captain before the series.