Tripura won by 10 wickets against Nagaland in the Vijay Hazare plate group’s league match, giving them four wins in as many games in the fifty-over domestic competition. M Murasingh created havoc with the ball, taking five wickets in 14 overs to help Tripura bowl out the opposition for 48 runs. In response, the opening pair of Samit Gohil and SM Singha took 10.1 overs to hunt down the goal. Tripura was able to increase its net run-rate to 2.739, which is higher than Meghalaya’s 1.475.

In the other match, Meghalaya showed amazing fortitude to beat Mizoram’s spirited fight and win the championship for the fourth time in a row. Punit Bisht scored 142 runs off 129 balls, including 20 fours and one six, to help Meghalaya reach 237 runs. In pursuit of the mark, Uday Kaul batted alone for Manipur, scoring 109 off 123 balls with ten boundaries and a single six. The captain, on the other hand, was unable to elicit much support from the hitters, resulting in the team falling 19 runs short.

Nafees Siddique, a surfer, created a fantasy list. Meghalaya defeated Manipur by 111 runs in their Plate Group encounter of the Vijay Hazare Trophy national one-dayers here on Saturday, thanks to a debut capturing 6/39.

As their decision to field first backfired, Siddique produced a brilliant new ball session to unsettle Manipur’s top-order and reduce the opposition to 28/5 in nine overs in their chase of 259 runs. Only three batsmen reached double digits before Manipur were bowled out for 147 in 49.2 overs, despite L Kishan Singha’s 123-ball 50.

Meghalaya had earlier posted a difficult 258 for 7 at the Jaipuria Vidyalaya pitch, thanks to half-centuries from skipper Punit Bisht (85 from 71 balls; 11x4s) and Chirag Khurana (50 from 80 balls; 2x4s). Meghalaya won for the third time in a row, but they were still in second place in the Plate Group on net run-rate, trailing Tripura. On Tuesday, Meghalaya and Tripura will compete for the right to proceed to the next round.