Tamil Nadu, the defending champions, advanced to the semifinals after defeating Kerala by five wickets at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi. Kerala scored 181/4 thanks to Vishnu Vinod’s scorching fifty-and-a-half-century from Rohan Kunnummal. As they chased down the goal in the last over, Tamil Nadu saw four batters break 30, with Sai Sudharsan’s 46 being the highest.

Despite the fact that N Jagadeesan was dismissed for 7 in the third over, Hari Nishanth had enabled Tamil Nadu get off to a good start in the chase. After the powerplay, he fell for a 22-ball 32, which was followed by a quick 57-run partnership between Sudharsan and skipper Vijay Shankar (33 off 26).

Sanjay Yadav, who hit two sixes in his unbeaten 19 off 9, also contributed a crucial 32 off 22 to help Tamil Nadu get closer. Kerala had previously been inserted and produced a consistent batting performance before going from strength to strength. On his way to a 43-ball 51, Rohan Kunnummal shared 40-plus stands with Mohammed Azharuddeen and Sachin Baby. Tamil Nadu received a boost from Sanjay Yadav’s twin strike in the 13th over, when he terminated Kunnummal’s stay and struck Sanju Samson for a duck. Vishnu Vinod’s pyrotechnics, on the other hand, caught Tamil Nadu off guard, as the No. 5 required only 26 balls for his undefeated 65, which included two fours and seven sixes, to help Kerala reach 180 – albeit it was insufficient in the end.

Vidarbha defeated Rajasthan by nine wickets in their quarterfinal match at the Palam Stadium in Delhi, thanks to a clinical bowling effort. Vidarbha’s six bowlers each took at least one wicket to reduce Rajasthan to 84/8. Vidarbha crossed the finish line with 5.1 overs to spare, securing a place in the semi-finals.