Women’s cricket will make its Commonwealth Games debut in 2022, with India and Australia set to face off in the opening match on Friday, July 29. The cricket matches will take place over a nine-day period, with the final slated for August 7. The last time cricket was played at the CWG was in Kuala Lumpur during the 1998 edition. The competition will be held in T20 format this time. Pakistan and Barbados will also face off on the first day. Group A includes Australia, India, Barbados, and Pakistan. Group B includes New Zealand, South Africa, England, and a qualifier.

Seven of the eight qualifying teams had previously been announced as of April. By the end of January, the tournament’s final team will be revealed. The itinerary is being released just a few weeks before tickets go on sale.

The ECB said in a statement that “the women’s cricket T20 competition will be staged at the Edgbaston Stadium from the 29th of July, with the bronze and gold medal matches taking place on the 7th of August.” Women’s cricket will advance beyond the Commonwealth Games, according to Geoff Allardice, the ICC Acting Chief Executive. The matches will be held in Birmingham’s renowned Edgbaston stadium.

“The women’s game has witnessed incredible growth in recent years, and the Commonwealth Games will definitely be another key milestone on that journey. The match schedule announced today gives fans something to look forward to, not least the opening game between ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2020 champions Australia and India, and we know Edgbaston will be a fantastic venue for the tournament.”