With a dominant 71-run victory against Zimbabwe in their last Super 12 match, Team India clinched first in Group 2 of the T20 World Cup. The team will play England for a spot in the championship game after earlier in the day, the Netherlands’ dramatic victory against South Africa earned them a spot in the semi-finals. In India’s encounter against Zimbabwe in Melbourne, Suryakumar Yadav stole the show with six fours and four sixes on his way to an unbeaten 61 off only 25 deliveries.

When India decided to bat, they had a shaky beginning after Rohit Sharma (15) and Virat Kohli (26) were dismissed early in the innings. However, KL Rahul continued to show off his impressive form by scoring another half-century, this time a crucial 51 off 35 deliveries, to stabilize the Indian innings alongside Suryakumar.

Dinesh Karthik was replaced in India’s starting lineup by Rishabh Pant, however, the former’s innings were ended by Ryan Burl’s amazing diving catch on the boundary line. Suryakumar put up a 65-run partnership with Hardik Pandya (18) after Pant was dismissed on 3 and used mostly power-hitting to finish the innings strong with 21 runs in the last over.

With Wesley Madhevere being dismissed for a first-ball duck, Bhuvneshwar Kumar gave Zimbabwe the worst possible start to their run chase. The Zimbabweans were left reeling at 36/5 in 7.3 overs as more wickets continued to fall until Sikandar Raza and Ryan Burl (35) brought some steadiness to the batting. With the castling of Burl, Ravichandran Ashwin gave India a crucial victory just when Zimbabwe was beginning to seem risky.

India ultimately finished out Zimbabwe’s innings at 115, recording their fourth victory of the group and taking the lead with 8 points. On Thursday in Adelaide, India will play host to England.