The two-time champions of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL), Comilla Victorians, have signed Faf du Plessis, Moeen Ali, and Sunil Narine for the 8th edition of the T20 tournament. The Victorians, who are owned by Lotus Group, are expected to return to the tournament after missing out on the previous edition two years ago.

Du Plessis and Moeen have just returned from the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi, where they competed in the Abu Dhabi T10 League. Narine last appeared for the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in the Indian Premier League’s second leg in 2021. (IPL). Comilla’s managing director, Nafisa Kamal, revealed that Du Plessis, Narine, and Moeen had been signed for the upcoming BPL season.

“According to BCB, this is a month-long BPL. Six teams will compete. Three foreign players are available. We’re doing our best to stay on track. All three have been signed. Sunil Narine, Faf du Plessis, and Moeen Ali have all been confirmed,” Nafisa was quoted as saying to the media on Saturday, according to CricFrenzy.

In 2015-16, the Victorians won the tournament for the first time, defeating the Barisal Bulls by three wickets at Dhaka’s Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium. They were crowned champions for the second time in the 2018-19 season, defeating Rangpur Riders by 57 runs in the final. The BPL is set to begin on January 20 and will likely last for about a month, ending on February 20. It will, however, coincide with the Pakistan Super League (PSL), which will begin on January 27. Nonetheless, Sheikh Sohel, a member of the BPL’s governing board, seems unconcerned about the PSL.

He also stated that the BPL’s governing body is attempting to host the players’ draft this month. “We are not concerned about the PSL, and we intend to host the players draft later this month,” Sohel said. “The only concern we have is the Corona scenario.”

In the meantime, the BPL has selected six clubs for the 2018 season. The news was first reported by BCB sources on Sunday, December 12. Teams including the Khulna Tigers, Rangpur Riders, and Dhaka Dynamites have walked out of the tournament due to the one-year contract.