Team India’s series victory over Sri Lanka in Rajkot on Saturday was impressively led by star batter Suryakumar Yadav and all-rounder Axar Patel without the help of captain Rohit Sharma. The Hardik Pandya-led Team India thrashed Sri Lanka by a wide margin in the third Twenty20 International to win the bilateral series 2-1 even though veteran players Rohit, Virat Kohli, and KL Rahul were out.

Former Indian selector, Saba Karim has asked the Indian think tank to refrain from selecting senior batsmen Rohit and Kohli in India’s T20I team during the One Day International (ODI) World Cup year, days after India extended its run of bilateral series victories at home. The batting pair of Rohit and Kohli may be re-signed for the T20I team, according to the former Indian cricketer and full-time cricket commentator, but only with one restriction.

In addition to expressing his opinions during a conversation on India News Sports, Karim remembered how seasoned batter Dinesh Karthik received his call-up to the India team before the T20 World Cup. “Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma might perhaps have a terrific IPL season. The selectors won’t be able to look beyond them if it occurs. In Dinesh Karthik’s case, it occurred similarly to the previous year. But I don’t think it’s necessary to choose them right now. They may be taken into consideration if they do well in the IPL “explained Karim.

Captain Rohit and batting legend Kohli will rejoin the Indian team for the three-match ODI series against the guests after being rested for the Sri Lanka T20Is. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced that bowler Jasprit Bumrah has been suspended for the whole series on the eve of the first One-Day International (ODI) against Sri Lanka. Bumrah would need more time to develop bowling resilience, according to the press release, thus the choice was made out of prudence. The senior pacer’s successor has not been picked by the all-India senior selection committee. Rohit-led Team India will meet Sri Lanka in the 1st ODI of the bilateral series at the Barsapara Cricket Stadium in Guwahati on Tuesday.