The Indian team for the three-match ODI series against Zimbabwe was named without Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant, Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal, or Ravindra Jadeja since they had all been rested. While all-rounders Deepak Chahar and Washington Sundar made their recovery from injury breaks, Shikhar Dhawan was appointed captain.

Suryakumar Yadav and Shreyas Iyer were the two significant absences. Rahul Tripathi received his first call-up to the India ODI team after earning his first call-up for the Ireland T20Is.

Shubman Gill, Shardul Thakur, Prasidh Krishna, Mohammed Siraj, Sanju Samson, and Ruturaj Gaikwad as a backup openers all kept their positions.

After guiding India to their first-ever ODI series whitewash in the West Indies, Dhawan will get another chance to serve as captain.

The tour will also be a great chance for players like Sundar and Chahar to reclaim their place in the competition. Through his performance for Lancashire in the English county, Sundar has already shown his fitness.

Chahar, who last represented India on a tour of South Africa earlier this year, is eager to position himself as an all-around choice.

India will visit Zimbabwe for the first time since their 2016 trip. On August 18, 20, and 22, Harare will host the three ODIs.