Tuesday’s MSSA Under-16 Girls Manorambai Apte event saw Sharadashram Vidyamandir (English) defeat Vasant Vihar High School by 138 runs thanks to a swashbuckling century from Ira Jadhav.

Ira hit 20 fours and two sixes in only 59 balls to score 119 runs. She and Sarathi Bhakare (56, 41b; 5×4) had a second-wicket partnership of 185 runs that helped Sharadashram reach 210 for 6 in their allotted 20 overs. Vasant Vihar gave up after just 72 runs in response.

At the prize-distribution event held at the Parsee Gymkhana, former Test player Jayantilal Kenia served as the honorary host. Ira won 5,000 for being deemed the greatest hitter, while her colleague Prisha Deorukhkar, who went three for five in the championship game, was chosen as the best bowler.

Brief ratings: Sharadashram Vidyamandir (English) defeated Vasant Vihar High School, Thane, 72 in 16.4 overs (Prisha Deorukhkar 3/5, Madhura Dhadke 2/15, Mugdha Parte 2/4) by 138 runs. In the semifinals, Vasant Vihar High School defeated St. Columba High School 75/5 in 15 overs (Sharvari More 2/21) by 36 runs while Parag English School defeated 37 in 9.5 overs

Times Shield: Route Mobile reaches 310 in the final score thanks to Naik’s century

On Day One of the Times Shield ‘B’ Division final at MCA’s BKC field on Tuesday, Nikhil Naik’s undefeated century (144*, 124b; 14×4, 6×6) helped Route Mobile record 310 in their first innings against Nirlon Sports Club.

Short scores: Nirlon Sports Club vs. Route Mobile Ltd 310 in 73.3 overs (Vaishnav Narvekar 44, Aditya Srivastava 55, Nikhil Naik 144*; Yashraj Malap 2/73, Nipun Panchal 2/57, Hemant Buchade 4/57, Salman Khan 2/93).

MFA League: Second Division champions Waves FC

Tuesday at the Neville D’Souza field in Bandra, Waves Football Club won the Second Division championship of the Mumbai Football Association (MFA) League after defeating South Mumbai United 5-4 in the tie-breaker. In the allotted time, the score was 3-3.

Results: Final: Rudra Soccer Star Youth 2 (Rohit Kanojia 2) defeated Youth Soccer Academy 0 (Rajveer Kesri, Jonathan Poojari, Kailash Choudary, Omkar Shinde); Third place: South Mumbai United 4 (Rajveer Kesri, Jonathan Poojari, Kailash Choudary, Omkar Shinde) lost to Waves FC 5 (Sunny Koli 2, Tushar Nagi, Nishant Parab,


MCC Pro-40 League brief scores: MCC (Red) 192 (Sagar Sethi 73, Aditya VS 30; Ritwik Mohanty 2/23, Saurabh Paswan 2/25, Suhal Ansari 2/9) lost to MCC (Orange) 193/7 (Vijay Chaudhary 55, Shoaib Khan 44, Raj Kumar 29) by 3 wickets; JSF Club 230/9 (Aadil Kagalwala 63, Ismail Kazi 41*; Arjun CH 3/30, Chetan Wagh 2/29) lost to MCC (Black) 231/6 (Daksh Burman 78*, Yash Ramchandani 57) by 4 wickets; B4S Club 290/6 (Ankush Pawan 90, Harsh Patil 75; Rambhajan Rajbhar 2/46, Pawan Sanghani 2/60) bt MCC (Red) 144 (Amit Chauhan 57; Aayush Iyer 4/11, Yashin Shaikh 3/23) by 146 runs

At the Junior National Carrom Championship, 350 players will compete.

The 47th LIC-Junior National Carrom Championship, which begins on Wednesday, will include over 350 players from 20 states.

The Maharashtra Carrom Association is in charge of organizing the event, which will go on till February 4 at the Bharat Scouts and Guides Hall in Shivaji Park.