Shakib Al Hasan, a great all-rounder, was named captain of the T20 side by the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) on Saturday in preparation for the next Asia Cup, the New Zealand tri-series, and the T20 World Cup.

Australia will host the T20 championship in October-November, while the Asia Cup will take place in the United Arab Emirates.

After many weeks of ambiguity during which Shakib was given the choice of continuing to represent Bangladesh as a player or maintaining his sponsorship with “betting firm” Betwinner News, the BCB finally made the announcement. He had canceled his contract with the business. After Mominul Haque resigned as Test captain in June, he was named in his place. A 17-person roster for the Asia Cup, which begins on August 27, was also unveiled by the BCB. With Liton Das unable to compete in the Asia Cup owing to injury, Bangladesh made many changes to their T20I lineup.

Sabbir Rahman, a middle-order batsman who last participated in a T20I in 2019, and Mushfiqur Rahim, who was rested for the T20I series against Zimbabwe, are both back in the lineup. Shoriful Islam, Munim Shahriar, and Najmul Hossain Shanto had no place on the squad.

Despite a persistent back issue, all-rounder Mohammad Saifuddin made a comeback, while fast bowler Ebadot Hossain was also included in the team. Despite having a finger injury, Nurul Hasan was also selected for the team; according to the BCB, an update on him is anticipated on August 21.