Shaheen Afridi and Mohammad Rizwan, along with Joe Root and Kane Williamson, are among the four players nominated for the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for the ICC Player of the Year award. The candidates were released by ICC as part of the award series for the previous year. This trophy has no Indian players on the shortlist and surprisingly Shaheen Afridi is the only pacer among the players who have been nominated for this award.

Mohammad Rizwan has been chosen for his continuous performance throughout the year as the top T20 scorer in 2021. In the previous year, the top Pakistani batsman scored 1,915 runs in 44 internationals at an average of 56.32, with two centuries, while dismissing 56 men behind the wicket.

Rizwan’s match-winning innings against arch-rivals India, in which he hammered six fours and three sixes in only 55 deliveries, is recalled. Without losing a wicket, he and skipper Babar Azam chased down the 152-run target. Shaheen Afridi, another Pakistani cricketer, has been nominated for the Player of the Year award. In 36 internationals in 2021, the leading pacer took 78 wickets at an average of 22.20, with the best bowling figures being 6/51.

Shahid Afridi’s blistering performance against India in the T20 World Cup 2021 is one of the most legendary periods in T20 cricket. England’s captain, Joe Root, has been nominated for the award for his performance in the longest version of the game. The right-handed batter hit 1,708 Test runs in 2021. He scored 1,855 runs at an average of 58.37 in 18 international matches, including six centuries.

Root’s best innings of the year were undoubtedly the 218 he produced against a world-class Indian spin attack in the sweltering heat of Chennai. Kane Williamson, New Zealand’s captain, has been selected for the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy after scoring 693 runs in 16 internationals at an average of 43.31.