Sanju Samson, a famous Indian wicketkeeper-batsman, has been selected as the team’s captain for the forthcoming three-match one-day series against New Zealand ‘A’. All three games of the series will be contested in Chennai beginning on September 22. The team also contains Rajat Patidar and Rahul Tripathi, two players who impressed during this year’s Indian Premier League, as well as explosive opener Prithvi Shaw.

Along with fellow pacers Kuldeep Sen, Shardul Thakur, Navdeep Saini, and Raj Angad Bawa, speed phenom Umran Malik also earns a spot in the “A” team. Malik previously represented India as a result of his consistent IPL 2022 performances.

Bawa played for the Chennai Super Kings in the IPL this year after being selected due to his strong performances for the Indian squad that won the U19 World Cup in February. For the three-match series, Ruturaj Gaikwad and Abhimanyu Easwaran have also been chosen. Youngster Tilak Varma, who caught people’s attention with his great exploits for the Mumbai Indians in the 2022 season, has also been chosen.

KS Bharat has been called up to the team as a second wicketkeeper in addition to Samson. Kuldeep Yadav, Rahul Chahar, and Shahbaz Ahmed are the attack’s top spinners.