Ruturaj Gaikwad, the current batting sensation for Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Team India, has been rewarded for his outstanding recent success and is poised to captain the Maharashtra team in the upcoming Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy (SMAT). Maharashtra has been assigned to Elite Group A for the competition, which begins on November 4th. All of their games will be held in Lucknow, beginning with the opening match against Tamil Nadu. With 635 runs, Ruturaj recently finished the IPL 2021 season as the leading run-scorer. His deputy has been named Naushad Sheikh.

Rahul Tripathi, a batsman with the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), was the normal vice-captain but was unable to make the squad due to a groyne ailment. On October 15, he suffered a terrible injury while playing in the IPL final against CSK and KKR.

Swapnil Gugale, Pawan Shah, and Jagdish Zope took the place of Rahul Tripathi, Siddhesh Veer, and Rajvardhan Hangargekar. Tripathi, who had been named vice-captain, was unable to recover from a groyne injury sustained during the IPL finals, and Naushad Shaikh was named vice-captain. “Rajvardhan Hangargekar was selected to play in the U-19 Challenger Trophy event after Siddhesh Veer fractured his middle finger,” Maharashtra CA Secretary Riyaz Bagban said in a news release.

Kedar Jadhav, a veteran batsman, has also been included in the squad. Even though he is out of form, he is one of the most experienced players in the lineup and will be expected to play a key part in the middle overs. With Pradeep Dadhe and Mukesh Choudhary among the ranks, the bowling assault also appears to be promising.