India’s lineup for the third ODI against Bangladesh on Saturday has been expanded to include left-arm wrist spinner, Kuldeep Yadav. The choice was made after the injury withdrawal of three Indian players, including captain Rohit Sharma, from the series finale. In Rohit’s absence, vice-captain KL Rahul will lead India.

Kuldeep had returned to the Indian limited-overs lineup for the trip to New Zealand, but shockingly, he was unable to feature in either of the T20I and ODI matches. Before the Test series, Kuldeep was due to go to Bangladesh to join the Indian team, but he will now arrive early and is expected to participate in the third game.

A decision about skipper Rohit’s availability for the two-match Test series would be made later, according to BCCI.

“Rohit was struck on the thumb during the second over of the second ODI while fielding. He was evaluated by the BCCI Medical Team, and in a nearby Dhaka hospital, he underwent scans. He would miss the last ODI since he took a flight to Mumbai for a specialist appointment. The BCCI said that a decision on his availability for the forthcoming Test series will be made later.

Chahar is suffering from another hamstring strain, while Kuldeep Sen, who made his debut in the series opener in Mirpur, has been diagnosed with a stress injury.

“Fast bowler Kuldeep Sen reported back discomfort during the first ODI. After being examined by the BCCI medical staff, he was told to skip the second ODI. Kuldeep has been given the go-ahead to withdraw from the series due to a stress injury. Deepak Chahar, a fellow fast bowler, suffered a left hamstring injury during the second ODI and is now out for the series. Kuldeep and Deepak will now both go to NCA for further injury care, according to the press statement.

After players continued to sustain injuries after the second ODI, Rohit voiced his discontent with the NCA’s handling of the situation without using Chahar’s name.

India will be looking to conclude the series on a high by winning the last ODI and entering the Test series with a lot of confidence despite having already lost the series.

For the third ODI against Bangladesh, the following players have been added to the Indian team: KL Rahul (C), Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Rahul Tripathi, Rajat Patidar, Shikhar Dhawan, Mohd. Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, and Umran Malik.