Roger Binny, the cricketer who took the most wickets during India’s winning 1983 World Cup campaign, was officially elected as the organization’s 36th president at the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) Annual General Meeting (AGM) on Tuesday in Mumbai without any opponents. After Sourav Ganguly’s three-year time as board chairman came to an end, Binny took over. Ganguly was a former captain of India. Ganguly will now seek election to the Cricket Association of Bengal’s top post.

Devajit Saikia, Ashish Shelar, Rajeev Shukla, and Jay Shah are the other BCCI office holders, and they were all unanimously selected to fill the positions of secretary and treasurer, respectively (joint secretary). The IPL governing board has appointed Avishek Dalmiya and outgoing treasurer Arun Dhumal. Dhumal has taken over as the IPL’s chairman instead of Brijesh Patel.

According to a statement from the BCCI, the General Body commended the IPL Governing Council Chairman, members, and Councillors for the work they accomplished during their tenure. All of the new officeholders were picked without opposition, therefore the election was only a formality.

Binny has participated in 27 Tests and 72 One-Day Internationals for India and has been on the national selection committee.

The right-arm medium pacer’s World Cup performance in 1983 is what most people remember about him. Additionally, he was a valuable batter down in the order. The Indian team headed by Kapil Dev won their first world title thanks in large part to Binny, who concluded the contest with the most wickets (18).

But there was no discussion of whose turn it was to chair the International Cricket Council (ICC). The next ICC chairman will be selected at the following board meeting in Melbourne. “Who will represent India at the ICC would be decided by the office-holders. There was no discussion of the ICC chairmanship. The agenda was fully completed, “PTI was told by a state unit representative who attended the AGM.

The BCCI is unlikely to nominate its candidate for the position of ICC chairman given the nomination deadline of October 20.