The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced on Sunday that Indian captain Rohit Sharma has been disqualified from the forthcoming first Test between Team India and the hosts Bangladesh. The 2nd One Day International (ODI) against the Litton Das-led team resulted in a thumb injury for India’s all-format skipper. Due to the same ailment, the seasoned Indian opener was forced to miss Saturday’s third and final ODI in the three-match series between the two nations.

The highest cricket board of India confirmed that Rohit has been dropped from the Indian team for the first Test against Bangladesh on Sunday. It also announced that senior bowler Mohammed Shami and experienced all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja are both out of the red-ball series. Shami and Jadeja have been replaced by Navdeep Saini and Saurabh Kumar, while Indian captain Rohit has been replaced by Abhimanyu Easwaran for the first Test against Bangladesh due to injury.

In a two-game red-ball series against Bangladesh A, the uncapped Bengal opener led India A. In his two innings, the newest member of the Indian Test team recorded notable scores of 141 and 157. Easwaran’s outstanding 157-run performance against Bangladesh A earned him the title of Player of the Match. Easwaran also traveled with India’s Test team to England in 2021.

KL Rahul, the vice-captain of India, will skipper the visitors against Bangladesh in the first game of the series. Earlier this year, against South Africa in Johannesburg, opener Rahul made his Test captaincy debut. The top batter for the Asian giants had a magnificent half-century on his Test debut as skipper. In the Johannesburg Test, the Proteas, spearheaded by Rohit, outperformed India.

According to a BCCI update on Rohit’s thumb injury, the wounded Indian captain saw a doctor in Mumbai. The senior batter has been informed of the best course of treatment for his ailment, and the BCCI Medical Team will decide later on whether or not he can play in the second and final Test.

Shami, a pacer, and Jadeja, an all-rounder, are still recovering from their respective shoulder and knee ailments, according to a press statement issued by the BCCI. Saurabh, an Uttar Pradesh spinner, is brought in to replace Jadeja on a like-for-like basis. During the Bangladesh trip, Saurabh and Saini represented India A. Saini, a speed merchant, participated for Team India in two Test matches.