Rashid Khan stood down as captain less than half an hour after Afghanistan released their roster for the T20 World Cup 2021, claiming that “the selection committee and ACB have not gotten my agreement for the team which has been announced by ACB media.”

Mohammad Nabi, an allrounder, is expected to take over as the team’s next captain. Rashid was named captain by ACB’s official Twitter handle, however he announced his resignation effective immediately through his own tweet, which was issued 22 minutes after the ACB’s.

Afghanistan’s T20 World Cup lineup included numerous players who had previously performed well but had not been part of the national team in recent years. Mohammad Shahzad, who was suspended for a year in late 2019 but has been able to play since August 2020, was one of them. Shapoor Zadran and Dawlat Zadran, a pace combo, were also chosen. Shapoor last played for Afghanistan in a T20I in March 2020, against Dawlat in September 2019. The roster included the injury-prone Hamid Hassan, who hasn’t played a T20I for Afghanistan since March 2016.

Afghanistan will play a qualifying team in Sharjah on October 25 to kick off their T20 World Cup campaign. In the Super 12 stage, they will also face India, Pakistan, and New Zealand.

Afghanistan’s problems appear to be far from over, since the country’s international status could be jeopardised if a women’s squad is not fielded. Under the Taliban’s current reign, this could be a challenging task. Cricket Australia (CA) has threatened to cancel Afghanistan’s tour if the situation did not improve.

Squad: Rashid Khan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Karim Janat, Hazratullah Zazai, Gulbadin Naib, Usman Ghani, Naveen ul Haq, Asghar Afghan, Hamid Hassan, Mohammad Nabi, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Najibullah Zadran, Dawlat Zadran, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Shapoor Zadran, Mohammad Shahzad (wk), Qais Ahmad