The Saurashtra Cricket Association has picked India’s Test specialist hitter Cheteshwar Pujara in the 21-member team for the Ranji Trophy, which begins on February 10. Saurashtra plays their league matches in Ahmedabad, where they are positioned in Elite Group D. Saurashtra is in the same group as domestic powerhouses Mumbai, Odisha, and Goa, all of which have won the Ranji Trophy 41 times. As predicted, Jaydev Unadkat, a veteran campaigner and prolific left-arm speedster, has been appointed captain.

The squad is currently practising at the SCA Stadium in Mumbai and is scheduled to arrive in Ahmedabad on Thursday evening. Chetan Sakariya, a pace bowler who created a name for himself in the IPL, has also been included in the team. Sheldon Jackson, a seasoned campaigner, has been included in the team, as have regulars Arpit Vasavada, Kamlesh Makwana, Chirag Jani, Prerak Mankad, youthful stumper Harvik Desai, and vital spinner Dharmendrasinh Jadeja.

The Ranji Trophy, which was postponed due to the third wave of illnesses throughout the nation last year due to the COVID-19 pandemic, was set to begin on January 13 but was postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic. It will now be held in two stages, with the first starting on Thursday and lasting through March 15 at different locations around the nation. After a hiatus for the IPL, the top domestic tournament returns from May 30 to June 26.