The Pakistan Super League (PSL) draft for the 2022 season will take place on Sunday, December 12. In the drafts, the Lahore Qalandars, led by Sohail Akhtar, will get the first pick. The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) announced earlier this month that the T20 event will begin in late January, rather than the usual February-March time frame.

Despite the fact that the official start date for the tournament has yet to be revealed, rumours claim that the PSL will begin on January 26 or 27. The PSL franchise owners also wanted the tournament to be held in January because the Emirates Premier League (EPL) is also scheduled to take place in January and February. After the PSL, the players are eligible to compete in the EPL. According to sources, an auction format was considered for the seventh edition of the PSL, but for the time being, the draft process has been maintained.

In the PSL 2022, the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore and the National Stadium in Karachi will each host 17 matches. In Lahore, the final will take place. Since the COVID-19 pandemic has hit the event twice in the last two weeks, the PCB would be cautious. The PSL was forced to relocate to Abu Dhabi last season after coronavirus infected the camps in March. The Multan Sultans, led by Mohammad Rizwan, are the tournament’s defending champions. They won their first PSL title by defeating the Peshawar Zalmi by 47 runs on Thursday, June 24. The Sultans set up a massive score of 206 for four in their 20 overs after being put in to bat first.

Sohaib Maqsood, who went on to win Player of the Match, smashed an unbeaten 35-ball 65 that included six fours and three sixes. Following that, Zalmi was limited to 159 for nine. Imran Tahir, who took three wickets, was the star of the show.

Order of the drafts for PSL 2022

1st Pick — Lahore Qalandars

2nd Pick — Multan Sultans

3rd Pick — Karachi Kings

4th Pick — Islamabad United

5th Pick — Peshawar Zalmi

6th Pick — Quetta Gladiators