Prithvi Shaw is selected as captain for the first two matches of the 2021-22 Ranji Trophy season on Wednesday. Mumbai team who is 41-time Ranji winners will begin their match on January 13 against Maharashtra in the Elite nine-team Group C. They will be up against Delhi on January 20. Young opener Yashasvi, middle-order hitters Sarfaraz, Arman Jaffer, and Aakarshit Gomel, as well as seasoned player Aditya Tare, have all been named in the 20-man squad. The selection committee, which includes Gulam Parkar, Sunil More, Prasad Desai, and Anand Yalvigi, has chosen Shivam Dube as an all-rounder, who has played 1 ODI and 13 T20Is.

Dhaval Kulkarni will lead the bowling assault. Mohit Awasthi, Shams Mulani, Shashank Attarde, and Roystan Dias will lead the attack. Arjun Tendulkar, a fast all-rounder, is also a member of the team. “After recuperating from injury, Arjun has been bowling well,” according to Salil Ankola, selector of the team, “and the team was chosen to look at the future of Mumbai cricket.”