Headed by Rohit Sharma Indian middle-order batsman Shreyas Iyer was on Tuesday declared out of the whole One Day International (ODI) series, dealing Team India yet another injury setback ahead of their impending white-ball assignment against New Zealand. Due to a back issue, star batter Iyer will miss the three-match series between India and New Zealand.

Following Iyer’s injury on the eve of the first ODI against the Black Caps, the Rohit Sharma-led team’s updated roster was revealed by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). In India’s last ODI series against Sri Lanka, Iyer batted at No. 4 and had totals of 28, 28, and 38. Rajat Patidar, a standout for Madhya Pradesh and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), has taken the position of the injured middle-order batter.

Iyer’s replacement, the in-form Suryakumar Yadav, is anticipated to lead the Men in Blue’s powerful middle order against the Black Caps. Ishan Kishan, the Indian middle-order batsman in the New Zealand series, will be a member of the team, skipper Rohit Sharma said in a press conference before the first ODI. Suryakumar only played in the third ODI against Sri Lanka, whereas Kishan, a wicketkeeper and batsman, was ignored by the Indian team for the whole preceding series.

After sitting out the third ODI against Sri Lanka, Indian superstar Hardik Pandya will rejoin the team. Washington Sundar may replace all-arounder Axar Patel in the New Zealand ODI series. In terms of bowling, either the hosts (Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal) choose two spinners and two fast bowlers in their starting XI for the series opener, or India may choose three pacers (Arshdeep Singh, Mohammed Siraj, and Umran Malik) along with a spinner for the first ODI.

First ODI starting lineup for India against. New Zealand:

Shubman Gill and Rohit Sharma are the starters.

Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, and Virat Kohli make up the middle order (WK)

Hardik Pandya and Washington Sundar are all-around.

Spinners: Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav

Arshdeep Singh, Mohammed Siraj, and Umran Malik are the pacers.