After failing to recover from a hamstring injury sustained at the T20 World Cup, Kieron Pollard will not travel to Pakistan for the ODI and T20I series that begins next week. Nicholas Pooran will captain the T20Is while Shai Hope will captain the ODIs in his absence. Pollard has been replaced in the T20Is by allrounder Rovman Powell, and in the ODIs by wicketkeeper-batter Devon Thomas. Pollard will undergo rehabilitation in Trinidad, according to a CWI statement, and will be reviewed in a few weeks before the home series against Ireland and England in January 2022.

Hope will be captaining the ODI team for the first time, and she faces a difficult task ahead of her. The three One-Day Internationals are part of the World Cup Super League, in which West Indies sit in eighth place with four wins in nine ODIs. West Indies, on the other hand, will move up to a third-place with a 3-0 win. In a West Indies team that is short on experience, Pollard will be missed. The squads do not include Jason Holder, Andre Russell, Evin Lewis, or Shimron Hetmyer. Instead, inexperienced but promising players like Justin Greaves, Shamarh Brooks, Gudakesh Motie, and Odean Smith make up the ODI roster, while Dominic Drakes and Motie make up the T20I squad.

When Pooran has taken over as captain, the West Indies have enjoyed a good run. They overcame Australia 4-1 at home earlier this year under his leadership. Pooran will be his ODI team deputy, while Hope will be his T20I vice-captain. All six of Pakistan’s games will be held in Karachi. The first T20I will be played on December 13, while the last ODI will be played on December 22.

ODI squad: Shai Hope (captain), Nicholas Pooran (vice-captain), Darren Bravo, Shamarh Brooks, Roston Chase, Justin Greaves, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Gudakesh Motie, Anderson Phillip, Raymon Reifer, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Hayden Walsh Jr, Devon Thomas

T20I squad: Nicholas Pooran (captain), Shai Hope (vice-captain), Darren Bravo, Roston Chase, Sheldon Cottrell, Dominic Drakes, Akeal Hosein, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Gudakesh Motie, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Oshane Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr, Rovman Powell