The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has revealed the squads that will compete in the Pakistan Cup, one of the country’s main domestic List A events. Similarly to how the PSL has enabled many young Pakistani cricketers to exhibit their talents and potential to a wider audience, the Pakistan Cup gives players a platform to support their case for playing for the national team at some time in the future. The event will begin on March 2 and will take place in four different locations in Pakistan. The matches will take held at Faisalabad, Islamabad, Lahore, and Multan. The PCB will broadcast live from Multan for the group stage games.

The competition will have six cricket association teams participating. A double-league format will be used for the tournament. Several younger players have been given opportunities in the teams named, with some of them being rewarded for their efforts in the seventh edition of the PSL. Each of the six teams is made up of 16 people. In their first match, reigning champions Khyber Pakhtunkhwa will face Central Punjab in Faisalabad. Iftikhar Ahmed will lead the Pakhtunkhwa province. While seasoned Test spinner Yasir Shah will lead Balochistan, Northern will be led by famous Pakistan all-rounder Shadab Khan. Sindh is led by test pacer Mir Hamza, while Southern Punjab’s captain is Salman Ali Agha. Raza Ali Dar made the rounds of the captains, announcing that he had been given command of Central Punjab.

A number of well-known names will be absent from the competition. Babar Azam, Pakistan’s all-around captain, will be unavailable due to national responsibilities as the country prepares for a three-match Test series against Australia. Other notable stars who will be on national service during the home event are Shaheen Shah Afridi, Mohammad Rizwan, Hasan Ali, and Azhar Ali.