Pakistan has named a 20-man squad for the three-match ODI series against New Zealand, which begins later this month, with four players receiving their first ODI call-ups: Mohammad Haris, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Shahnawaz Dahani, and Zahid Mahmood.

Dahani, who was part of Pakistan’s Test squad that toured Zimbabwe earlier this year, has been called up after a stunning performance in the PSL 2021, in which he finished as the tournament’s top wicket-taker, while Haris, a 20-year-old wicket-keeper batsman, has been called up after a strong showing in the 2020/21 Pakistan Cup (50-over competition), in which he averaged 41.28 and struck at 102.84. Wasim Jnr and Zahid Mahmood both made their T20I debuts this year, and the pair have now been called up to the 50-over team.

Khushdil Shah, the left-handed batsman who was left out of the three-match ODI series against England, which Pakistan lost 0-3, returns, as does Iftikhar Ahmed, who was also unable to travel to the United Kingdom. Meanwhile, Abdullah Shafique and Saud Shakeel, who were both in the team for the England tour, have kept their spots.

The most notable omission is former captain Sarfaraz Ahmed, who has been left out of the three-match series. Sarfaraz Ahmed only played as a replacement in the three-match ODI series against England, and the participation of youthful Haris has prompted the selectors to look beyond the 34-year-old, who is no longer a starter in any of the three forms. Since November 2019, the veteran has only played in one One-Day International (ODI).

The three-match ODI series will begin on September 17 in Rawalpindi.

Pakistan ODI squad

Babar Azam (captain, Central Punjab), Abdullah Shafique (Central Punjab), Faheem Ashraf (Central Punjab), Fakhar Zaman (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa), Haris Rauf (Northern), Hasan Ali (Central Punjab), Iftikhar Ahmed (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa), Imam-ul-Haq (Balochistan), Khushdil Shah (Southern Punjab), Mohammad Haris (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa), Mohammad Hasnain (Sindh), Mohammad Nawaz (Northern), Mohammad Rizwan (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa), Mohammad Wasim Jnr (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa), Saud Shakeel (Sindh), Shadab Khan (Northern), Shaheen Shah Afridi (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa), Shahnawaz Dahani (Sindh), Usman Qadir (Central Punjab) and Zahid Mahmood (Southern Punjab)