Pakistan became the first team to win 18 T20Is in a calendar year after defeating the two-time T20 World Cup champions West Indies in the opening T20I in Karachi, breaking their own record of 17 triumphs set in 2018. The Men in Green are in fantastic form in T20I cricket, having won 10 of their last eleven matches, with the exception of a key semi-final loss to Australia in the T20 World Cup 2021.

Only six T20Is have been lost by the Babar Azam-led squad in 2021, with three games being abandoned. The Asian giants have been a dominant force in the shortest international format since they are the only team to have won more than 100 games since the format’s introduction.

Two of the team’s stalwarts, captain Babar Azam and wicketkeeper batter Mohammad Rizwan, have carried the team. The captain has 853 runs and his colleague has 1201 runs as the duo has been in exceptional form to win their own matches. They had a 1208-run partnership, which is the main reason for Pakistan’s 2021 victory.

The Men in Green began the year with a 2-1 series victory over South Africa at home, followed by a 3-1 series victory in South Africa later in the year. Their winning streak continued in another African country, Zimbabwe, where they defeated them 2-1. The only series they lost this year was in England, where the British team won 2-1. Pakistan paid a visit to the Caribbean island, but rain forced the cancellation of three of the four matches. They were able to win the lone game and, as a result, the series 1-0.

Following the disappointment of the Kiwis’ reluctance to play five T20Is in Pakistan, the Asian squad came out firing in the T20 World Cup, winning five matches in a row to reach the semi-finals. They were defeated by Australia and were eliminated from the major event. Bangladesh was the next visit, and they defeated them 3-0 in their own backyard.