Namibia’s 15-man squad will be led by Gerhad Erasmus at the T20 World Cup, which will be contested in the UAE and Oman in October and November. Former South African all-rounder David Wiese has also been named in Namibia’s T20 World Cup team, where he will compete for the second time in five years.

Wiese, who has represented South Africa in six One-Day Internationals and 20 Twenty-20 Internationals, is eligible to play for Namibia due to his father’s birth in the country. Nicol Loftie-Eaton, a potential leg-spinning all-rounder, is part of the squad. Loftie-Eaton has only taken one wicket in three T20Is for his country. Other players to keep an eye on are Michael van Lingen and left-arm fast bowler Ruben Trumpelmann.

Namibia will be making their debut appearance in the T20 World Cup after dominating Oman in qualification playoffs in Dubai in October 2019. On October 18, they will face Sri Lanka in their first encounter. In Group A of the opening round, they will face the Netherlands and Ireland before playing Sri Lanka. In the first round, two teams from each group will be eligible to advance to the Super-12 stage.

On October 17, the T20 World Cup will begin, and all of the cricketing giants will begin their trip in the Super-12 stage. It remains to be seen whether any lesser-known teams will be able to make an impression at the high-profile event in the United Arab Emirates.

Squad: Gerhard Erasmus (c), Stephen Baard, Karl Birkenstock. Michau du Preez, Jan Frylinck, Zane Green, Nicol Lofie-Eaton, Bernard Scholtz, Ben Shikongo, JJ Smit, Ruben Trumpelmann, Michael van Lingen, David Wiese, Craig Williams, Picky Ya France