Mushfiqur Rahim and Liton Das have been re-inducted into Bangladesh’s 19-man team for the five-match T20I series against New Zealand, which begins in Dhaka on September 1. Aminul Islam, a leg spinner, is the other newcomer, while Mohammad Mithun was dropped from the side that played Australia earlier this month. After being denied entry into the biosecure bubble maintained by the CA and BCB, Rahim and Das were both unable to play in the T20Is against Australia. Due to a family issue in mid-July, Rahim missed it by a couple of days, while Das was nursing an injury at the time.

Bangladesh went on to defeat Australia 4-1 in the T20I series, giving them a more balanced appearance, especially at home. Shakib Al Hasan, Mahedi Hasan, and Nasum Ahmed will be the major spinners for Mahmudullah, the skipper. With the slightly older ball, Mustafizur Rahman and Shoriful Islam performed admirably against Australia. Mohammad Saifuddin was also among the wicket-takers, and Taskin Ahmed and Rubel Hossain are also in the team.

Minhajul Abedin, Bangladesh’s chief selector, expressed relief with the return of Mushfiqur and Liton to the squad. “It’s always reassuring to get two of your top batters back, and I’m sure they’ll make the most of it knowing it’s their last competitive cricket before the World Cup,” Minhajul said. “We’ve included Aminul because he provides some diversity, and we’ll see how he fits into the starting XI.”

New Zealand will arrive in Dhaka on August 24 for the series, which takes place ahead of the T20 World Cup in the United Arab Emirates and Oman in October and November.

Squad: Mahmudullah (capt), Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Soumya Sarkar, Litton Kumer Das, Musaddek Hossain Saikat, Afif Hossain, Naim Sheikh, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Shamim Hossain, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Shaif Uddin, Shoriful Islam, Taijul Islam, Shak Mahedi Hasan, Aminul Islam Biplob, Nasum Ahmed.

T20I Series Fixtures at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium

1 September, 3 September, 5 September, 8 September, 10 September