For the series, the squad welcomes back Jasprit Bumrah and Harsha Patel, who were unable to compete in the continental competition. The two were being treated at the National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru since they were unable to compete in the Asia Cup due to their illnesses.

On September 20, a three-match T20I series between Australia and India will get underway. The series against South Africa consists of three T20Is and three ODIs. The series will start on September 28 and finish on October 11. The ODI squad has not yet been made public.

The trio is one of the 15 players on the BCCI’s squad for the main Australian tournament, which gets underway on October 16.