Mithali Raj, Jhulan Goswami, and seven of the eight Indian players who competed in the 2021-22 WBBL are among the significant omissions from the Senior Women’s One-day Challenger Trophy squads, which will take place in Vijayawada from December 4 to 9. For the upcoming edition, the Challenger Trophy, which has been expanded to accommodate a fourth team, is expected to serve as an audition for the most promising performers of the Indian 50-over domestic season, particularly uncapped and fringe players, ahead of next year’s tour of New Zealand in February, which will be followed by the ODI World Cup in March-April.

Radha Yadav, a T20I specialist who has only played one ODI, is the only player from the Indian contingent who has played in the ongoing WBBL to be selected for the Challenger Trophy. Harmanpreet Kaur, Smriti Mandhana, Jemimah Rodrigues, Poonam Yadav, Shafali Verma, Deepti Sharma, and Richa Ghosh, according to ESPNcricinfo, have all been rested, as has Raj, who just guided her local team, Railways, to the Senior One-Day Trophy victory.

Given that they had already been part of India’s international assignments against England (in June-July) and Australia (in September-October) before competing in the WBBL, all eight WBBL participants were said to have had the option of withdrawing from the home event. Rodrigues, Verma, Harmanpreet, Mandhana, and Sharma were also part of the inaugural Hundred, which was held in July-August following the England series.

All-India players Sneh Rana, Taniya Bhatia, Shikha Pandey, and Pooja Vastrakar have been selected leaders of the four squads – India A, B, C, and D – which each contain 15 players. S Meghana, Muskan Malik, Dhara Gujjar, Vrinda Dinesh, Palak Patel, Ayushi Soni, and D Kasat, Anju Tomar, Kanika Ahuja, and Vastrakar were picked in the squads after scoring the most runs in the recently concluded Senior Women’s One-Day Trophy. Rashi Kanojiya, Chandu V Ram, Mehak Kesar, Arti Devi, Sarala Devi, and Keerthi James were among the top 15 wicket-takers in the competition. The Dr Gokaraju Laila GangaRaju ACA Cricket Complex-DVR Ground will host all matches of the quadrangular event, in which each team will play each other once.