Megan Schutt and Jess Jonassen will miss Australia’s upcoming home series against India, which begins next month where three ODI’s, three T20’s and one Day-Night Test will be played. Maitlan Brown makes her return to the series after a lengthy layoff due to a hamstring ailment and top-order batter Georgia Redmayne and 19-year-old fast bowler Stella Campbell have been called up for the first time in the 18-player team.

Schutt, the spearhead of Australia’s speed attack, as well as Tasmanian pace bowler Belinda Vakarewa, have asked not to be considered for the matches due to personal reasons. The No. 1 ODI bowler, Jonassen, has been diagnosed with a stress injury in her tibia. Sophie Molineux, Molly Strano, Georgia Wareham, and Ashleigh Gardner will handle the spin bowling in her absence.

Although the series is still set to begin on September 19, the first ODI at North Sydney Oval is all but guaranteed to be rescheduled due to the ongoing lockdown in New South Wales, which could also affect the three T20Is scheduled for Sydney from October 7 to 11.

Due to the current COVID problems, Cricket Australia will continue to monitor the situation across the country and will evaluate whether any decisions about rescheduling or shifting matches are required in due course. India is scheduled to arrive at the end of the month and will be quarantined for two weeks upon arrival. They were supposed to play a warm-up match in Sydney before the ODI series.

Australia squad:

Meg Lanning, Rachael Haynes, Darcie Brown, Maitlan Brown, Stella Campbell, Nicola Carey, Hannah Darlington, Ashleigh Gardner, Alyssa Healy, Tahlia McGrath, Sophie Molineux, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Georgia Redmayne, Molly Strano, Annabel Sutherland, Tayla Vlaeminck, Georgia Wareham