Matthew Wade, Australia’s wicketkeeper, will lead the team in the five-match Twenty20 International series against Bangladesh, which begins on August 03, Tuesday in Dhaka. Regular captain Aaron Finch flew home from Barbados to get a small surgical treatment on his damaged right knee before leaving the Australian bio bubble for tours of the Caribbean and Bangladesh.

The 33-year-old Wade takes over as captain for the second time in his career, having previously led the team in Australia’s second Twenty20 match against India in December. Wade described the challenge of leading the squad by saying, “I’m going to be wicketkeeping, so the distance between bowler and myself is a lot wider.”

Pat Cummins, Australia’s regular vice-captain, is one of several senior players who will miss the tour as the team prepares for the Twenty20 World Cup in the United Arab Emirates and Oman in October. During the 2-1 series triumph over the West Indies, Alex Carey took over as captain of the one-day side from Finch, and Wade feels his experience may help Australia’s young batting line-up bounce back after losing the Twenty20 series in the Caribbean.

Qantas Tour of Bangladesh 2021

 Australia squad: Ashton Agar, Wes Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Alex Carey, Dan Christian, Josh Hazlewood, Moises Henriques, Mitchell Marsh, Ben McDermott, Riley Meredith, Josh Philippe, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye, Matthew Wade (c), Adam Zampa. Travelling reserves: Nathan Ellils, Tanveer Sangha.

Bangladesh squad: Mahmudullah (c), Soumya Sarkar, Naim Sheikh, Shakib Al Hasan, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Afif Hossain, Shamim Hossain, Shaif Uddin, Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam, Nasum Ahmed, Shak Mahedi Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman, Mohammad Mithun, Taijul Islam, Musaddek Hossain Saikat, Rubel Hossain