The roster for the Babar Azam-led team’s forthcoming match against New Zealand has been revealed by former cricketer Shahid Afridi, who was recently named temporary head selector of the Pakistan men’s team. Middle-order batsman Haris Sohail and opener Fakhar Zaman have joined Pakistan, but ace spinner Shadab Khan will not be playing in the ODI series against the Black Caps.

A 16-player team has been chosen by the Afridi-led Pakistani men’s interim selection committee for the ODI series against New Zealand. Shadab, the vice-captain of Pakistan, was not able to be chosen since the renowned spinner broke his right index finger in Australia. Former Pakistani captain Afridi spoke candidly with the media at the customary news conference following Shadab’s expulsion from the Babar-led team’s ODI squad.

“Meri kal baat hui thi shadab se. The three ODIs are Shadab ne mujhe ye kaha ki mein khel jaunga. Mene manah kiya, mene kaha aap ground jaayein subah, mene kaha aap bowling karein kuch overs, and phir uskey baad mujhe btayeinga apni scenario (Shaddab and I spoke. He assured me he could play in all three ODIs. I rejected his request. I suggested he bowl a few innings first things in the morning before providing an update on his condition “Afridi informed journalists.

Shadab, the vice-captain of Pakistan, sustained a finger injury while playing in the Big Bash League in Australia. The sole wicketkeeper picked in Pakistan’s team for the ODI series against New Zealand is star batter Mohammad Rizwan. In addition to standout bowler Haris Rauf, Pakistan’s ODI team now includes uncapped batsman Tayyab Tahir and wrist spinner Usama Mir. In preparation for the Asia Cup and the ICC World Cup 2023, the Pakistani team captained by Babar is slated to play 11 ODIs. To choose the best players for the two significant tournaments, we want to make the most of these 11 ODIs by allowing our reliable players, Afridi said. Hosts On Monday, the first of a three-match series between Pakistan and New Zealand will be played.

The Pakistani team for the ODI series against New Zealand consists of the following players: Babar Azam (captain), Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Haris Sohail, Imam-ul-Haq, Kamran Ghulam, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim Jr., Naseem Shah, Salman Ali Agha, Shahnawaz Dahani,