Following their on-field fight during the Sri Lanka-Bangladesh encounter in the Super 12s stage of the ongoing T20 World Cup 2021 in Sharjah, ICC match officials reprimanded Sri Lankan fast bowler Lahiru Kumara and Bangladesh keeper-opener Liton Das for breaching the ICC code of conduct.

On Sunday, October 24, the two teams met in a Group B match in Sharjah. Kumara removed Liton Das early, but as he was walking to the dugout, the bowler got in the face of the batter. Before Sri Lankan players and on-field officials arrived to deescalate the situation, Liton’s opening partner Mohammad Naim had to interfere and push Kumara away from Liton.

Both Lahiru Kumara of Sri Lanka and Liton Das Kumar of Bangladesh were penalised for violating level 1 of the ICC Code of Conduct for Players and Player Support Personnel. On-field umpires Joel Wilson and Adrian Holdstock, 3rd umpire Michael Gough, and 4th umpire Rod Tucker all levelled the charges.

Kumara was found guilty of violating Article 2.5 of the International Cricket Council’s Code of Conduct for Players and Player Support Personnel, which prohibits “using language, actions, or gestures that disparage, or that could provoke an aggressive reaction from a batter upon his/her dismissal during an International Match.”

Liton, on the other hand, was found guilty of violating Article 2.20 of the International Cricket Council’s Code of Behavior for Players and Player Support Personnel, which deals with “conduct that is antithetical to the spirit of the game.” The event occurred in the fifth over of Bangladesh’s innings, following the removal of hitter Litton Kumar Das. Kumara used violent words and actions after dismissing Das, provoking a reaction from the batter. Das responded forcefully and in a manner that was detrimental to the spirit of cricket after being provoked by the spinner Kumara.

Kumara received one demerit point in addition to the 25% fine from his match fees. Liton received a fine of 15% of his match fees, as well as one demerit point. There was no need for a formal hearing because Kumara and Das both pleaded guilty to the offences and accepted the suggested punishment.

The fines were imposed by Javagal Srinath of the Emirates ICC Elite Panel of Match Referees, and were accepted by the ICC Cricket Operations department in accordance with the COVID-19 preliminary playing guidelines.