Wayne Parnell, an all-rounder, has been called up to South Africa after more than four years, in what can only be described as an unexpected move. He was named in the 16-man squad for the three-match ODI series against the Netherlands by Cricket South Africa (CSA). It will be the first time the Netherlands has played a full international series against the Proteas, which will take place from November 26 to December 1.

Parnell signed a Kolpak deal with England county team Worcestershire, effectively ending his international career, after the last playing for South Africa in the 2017 Champions Trophy. However, due to changes in the CSA’s standards and selection system, Parnell will once again wear the national colours. With the next T20 World Cup less than a year away and Parnell is a true all-rounder, his return may be a significant advantage.

Meanwhile, Keshav Maharaj will lead a 16-man side that will be without a number of key players, including usual captain Temba Bavuma, who will be rested for the series. Other notable additions to the national squad include Khaya Zondo, Zubayr Hamza, and Ryan Rickelton. These players have been recognised for their outstanding performance on the domestic circuit. The CSA Convenor of Selectors, Victor Mpitsang, has stated that the Keshav Maharaj-led side will not take the historic home series lightly. “The National Selection Panel and I are both looking forward to giving this set of talented cricketers a chance.” In a statement, Mpitsang stated, “These picks are part of our aim to provide opportunities and recognise the hard work of athletes in our provincial system. This historic trip of the Netherlands to our shores is not something we take lightly. We want to show off South Africa’s talent and provide opportunities to athletes who have waited a long time and are eager to participate,”.

South Africa’s squad for the home ODI series against the Netherlands: Keshav Maharaj (captain), Daryn Dupavillon, Zubayr Hamza, Reeza Hendricks, Sisanda Magala, Janneman Malan, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Dwaine Pretorius, Andile Phehlukwayo, Wayne Parnell, Ryan Rickelton, Tabraiz Shamsi, Kyle Verreynne, Lizaad Williams, Khaya Zondo