Kent won their second T20 Blast tournament – their first in 14 years – with a magnificent all-round performance against Somerset in the final on Saturday, defeating them by 25 runs. Jordan Cox was the standout with the bat, smashing a punishing 58 not out at the conclusion of their faltering innings to propel them to a manageable 167 before making some acrobatic fielding catches to make it a night to remember.

When asked to bat first, Kent didn’t get off to the greatest of starts after Roelof van der Merwe took three wickets in the space of 13 deliveries, taking them from 44 for no loss to 52 for three. Zak Crawley started the comeback with a solid 41 off 33, but it was Cox who stole the show.

After Crawley’s exit, he added a 36-run stand with Jack Leaning to resuscitate the innings before seizing complete charge. Kent went from 118 for 5 after 17 overs to a considerably more confident 167/7 at the end of Cox’s 28-ball 58, 38 off which came in the final three overs alone as Kent went from 118 for 5 to a much more confident 167/7.

Somerset lost two wickets in the powerplay, with Joe Denly dismissing Tom Banton for a second-ball duck, the first of his three wickets in the evening. Will Smeed and Tom Abell repaired the damage with a 58-run third-wicket stand that looked set to get their chase back on track before Cox’s antics flipped the tide back in Kent’s favour for good.

As Lewis Gregory collapsed trying to sweep Darren Stevens, Cox pulled off another remarkable catch in mid-air over the midwicket fence before sending it on to Matt Milnes, triggering a dramatic collapse. The next four were all in the single digits, making a comeback practically impossible. Somerset finally went 25 short, but the tail did hit a six each, prolonging the inevitable.