The eight-member junior selection committee will be led by former Pakistani wicketkeeper-batsman Kamran Akmal, according to the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB). The PCB appointed Akmal as the chairman of the committee along with Sohail Tanvir, Amir Nazir, Taimoor Khan, Junaid Khan, Faisal Athar, Qaisar Abbas, and Sanaullah Baloch.

Regional selectors and head coaches will conduct trials in line with the schedule established by Pakistan’s top cricket organization. When the PCB established the selection committee for age-group trials and named Kamran as the junior head selector, the former Pakistani cricketer faced backlash on Twitter. Given the recent changes in Pakistani cricket, Kamran was the target of some amusing taunting on Twitter.

Kamran, who is known for his aggressive batting style, played his maiden international game against Zimbabwe at the Harare Sports Club in 2002. Akmal scored 2648 runs while playing for Pakistan in 53 Test matches. In 157 games in the 50-over format, the 41-year-old scored 3236 runs. In 58 T20I games for the former world champions, Akmal took part. 2017 saw Akmal play his last match for Pakistan against the West Indies at Providence Stadium.

The PCB has already selected former cricketer Haroon Rasheed to serve as the primary selector for the senior team. Rasheed further served as Pakistan’s chief selector between 2015 and 2016. Rasheed has taken over for Shahid Afridi, who had previously been designated as the interim chief selection of the Pakistani national team.

The freshly appointed chief selector participated in 12 ODIs and 23 Tests for Pakistan between 1977 and 1983. In April, Pakistan will host New Zealand for a five-match T20I series under the leadership of Babar. The fifth and final game of the series will be played on April 23 at Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore, while the series opener will take place at National Stadium in Karachi.