Prior to the mega auction, MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli, and Rohit Sharma have all been retained by their respective franchises. Notably, all eight existing teams were given time till Tuesday to submit their list of retained players (November 30). Each side can only keep a maximum of four players due to a big auction taking place ahead of the 2022 edition. Each franchise can spend up to INR 42 crore of its INR 90 crore pay budget on player retention. Meanwhile, it has been reported that numerous organizations have finalized their list of players who will be retained. While Chennai Super Kings, Kolkata Knight Riders, and Delhi Capitals have all kept all four players on their rosters, Sunrisers Hyderabad have only kept Kane Williamson.

KKR has retained Venkatesh Iyer and Varun Chakravarthy. Meanwhile, ESPNcricinfo has compiled a list of retained players. CSK has kept Ravindra Jadeja, Ruturaj Gaikwad, and Moeen Ali with Dhoni, according to the media house. Sunil Narine, Andre Russell, Varun Chakravarthy, and Venkatesh Iyer have been selected by KKR, while Shubman Gill and Pat Cummins have been omitted.

Rishabh Pant, Prithvi Shaw, Axar Patel, and Anrich Nortje have all been guaranteed to play for the Delhi Capitals next season. As a result, Shreyas Iyer and Shikhar Dhawan will either be auctioned or selected by one of the two new teams. So far, both the Mumbai Indians and the Royal Challengers Bangalore have announced two players each.

RCB has gone with Virat Kohli and Glenn Maxwell, while MI has kept Rohit Sharma and Jasprit Bumrah. Sanju Samson has been confirmed as the Rajasthan Royals’ lone confirmed retention thus far.

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli, Glenn Maxwell

Chennai Super Kings: Ravindra Jadeja, MS Dhoni, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Moeen Ali.

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah

Rajasthan Royals: Sanju Samson

Sunrisers Hyderabad: Kane Williamson

Delhi Capitals: Rishabh Pant, Prithvi Shaw, Axar Patel, Anrich Nortje

Kolkata Knight Riders: Sunil Narine, Andre Russell, Varun Chakravarthy, Venkatesh Iyer