The BCCI released the retention lists on Tuesday (November 30) ahead of the blockbuster event and Rahul, Rashid Khan, and Hardik Pandya are among the notable stars who haven’t been retained by their teams. The three players, along with other released players, will now be placed in a pool from which the two new IPL teams, Ahmedabad and Lucknow, will be able to select up to three players (2 Indian, 1 foreign).

KL Rahul’s dissociation from Punjab Kings, as previously reported by Cricbuzz, was a boon for Mayank Agarwal, who was the franchise’s first player to be retained for INR 14 crore. Arshdeep Singh, an uncapped player, was the second player to be retained, for INR 4 crore.

Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Ravindra Jadeja, and Rishabh Pant were all retained by their respective squads, as expected. CSK’s first choice was Jadeja, who has retained for INR 16 crore ahead of MS Dhoni (INR 12 crore). Glenn Maxwell, Jos Buttler, Sunil Narine, Andre Russell, and Anrich Nortje were among the international players retained. For Mumbai Indians, allrounder Kieron Pollard made the cut, while Moeen Ali was chosen above Sam Curran, Faf du Plessis, and Dwayne Bravo for Chennai Super Kings.

“We wanted to keep him (KL Rahul),” PBKS head coach Anil Kumble said after the retentions were announced. “That is why, two years ago, we chose him as captain and fulcrum of the squad, but he opted to go into the auction. That is something we appreciate; it is the player’s choice.”

K Shammi, the CEO of Sunrisers Hyderabad, said of Rashid Khan: “We accept a player’s decision to not participate in the auction because of the price. We’ll try to match him and see if we can get him at the proper price in the auction.” RCB’s Mohammed Siraj, CSK’s Ruturaj Gaikwad, RR’s Yashasvi Jaiswal, and KKR’s Venkatesh Iyer stood out as players chosen with the future in mind.

Pant was DC’s first choice, with all-rounder Axar Patel being selected second, ahead of Prithvi Shaw and Anrich Nortje. Kagiso Rabada, a fellow South African pacer, was chosen ahead of him. Suryakumar Yadav was retained ahead of allrounder Hardik Pandya and wicketkeeper-batsman Ishan Kishan at MI, which was a surprise. The franchise has kept Sanju Samson, the RR captain for the 2021 season. RR dropped Ben Stokes and Jofra Archer, among other players.

Williamson was chosen first at SRH, something Rashid was considering as well, as a second pick costs INR 4 crore less. SRH, on the other hand, have decided to keep skipper Williamson, as well as all-rounder Abdul Samad and fast bowler Umran Malik, who made his debut last season.

MI, CSK, DC, and KKR each kept four players, the maximum allowed. The Punjab Kings only kept two players, the fewest of the eight teams. KKR was the only team in the league to keep two overseas players.

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (16 cr), Jasprit Bumrah (12 cr), Suryakumar Yadav (8 cr), Kieron Pollard (6 cr)

Chennai Super Kings: Ravindra Jadeja (16 cr), MS Dhoni (12 cr), Ruturaj Gaikwad (8 cr), Moeen Ali (6 cr)

Delhi Capitals: Rishabh Pant (16 cr), Axar Patel (9 cr), Prithvi Shaw (7.5 cr), Anrich Nortje (6.5 cr)

Kolkata Knight Riders: Andre Russell (12 cr), Varun Chakravarthy (8 cr), Venkatesh Iyer (8 cr), Sunil Narine (6 cr)

Rajasthan Royals: Sanju Samson (14 cr), Jos Buttler (10 cr), Yashasvi Jaiswal (4 cr)

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli (15 cr), Glenn Maxwell (11 cr), Mohammed Siraj (7 cr)

Sunrisers Hyderabad: Kane Williamson (14 cr), Abdul Samad (4 cr), Umran Malik (4 cr)

Punjab Kings: Mayank Agarwal (14 cr), Arshdeep Singh (4 cr)

Team No of players retained Remaining purse
MI 4 48 cr
DC 4 47.5 cr
KKR 4 48 cr
CSK 4 48 cr
RR 3 62 cr
RCB 3 57 cr
SRH 3 68 cr
PBKS 2 72 cr