The Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 will be much bigger thanks to the addition of two new teams. The blockbuster auction will also take place ahead of the Indian T20 league’s 15th edition. Before the mega auctions, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has confirmed that each IPL team will be allowed to keep a maximum of four players in their roster. Franchises must also provide a list of retained players before November 30, 2021. Everything you need to know about the mega auctions is right here.

The maximum number of players that IPL franchises can keep –

A maximum of four cricketers can be retained by each IPL franchise. Only two of the four players kept can be from outside India.

The cost of each player who is retained –

The number of players retained by the IPL franchise will determine this. For example, if an IPL franchise decides to keep a maximum of four players before the auctions, the total purse available to the four players will be INR 42 crores. The first player kept will receive INR 16 crores, the second will receive INR 12 crores, the third will receive INR 8 crores, and the fourth will receive INR 6 crores. If a franchise keeps three players, the purse will be INR 33 crores, with the first player receiving INR 15 crores and the second and third players receiving INR 11 and 7 crores, respectively. If a franchise chooses to keep two players, they will be paid INR 14 and INR 10 crores, respectively. Finally, if an IPL team keeps only one player, that player will be paid INR 14 crores.

Each franchise’s most likely to keep players –

Which players are most likely to be kept by each franchise? According to the Indian Express, the Chennai Super Kings have announced that MS Dhoni, Ravindra Jadeja, Ruturaj Gaikwad, and one of Moeen Ali and Sam Curran will be retained. Sunil Narine and Andre Russell, the West Indian duo, are set to stay with KKR. RCB will keep ace batsman Virat Kohli, and with AB de Villiers’ retirement announcement, the ‘Men in Red’ may decide to keep Yuzvendra Chahal and Glenn Maxwell. Rajasthan Royals may keep three players: captain Sanju Samson and England’s Ben Stokes and Jos Buttler.

The Mumbai Indians will almost certainly keep their captain Rohit Sharma, as well as fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah. While Kieron Pollard is sure to be retained, the Mumbai side will also want to keep Ishan Kishan, their young gun. Rishabh Pant will lead the Delhi Capitals, followed by Prithvi Shaw, Axar Patel, and Anrich Nortje.

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) may keep two players in Rashid Khan and Kane Williamson, while the Punjab Kings will keep their captain, KL Rahul, if he does not want to join another franchise, and Mayank Agarwal.

The new franchises have chosen their players

Two additional IPL franchises will now enter the league. What criteria will they use to select their players? All additional players will be released into the auction pool after the eight existing franchises have retained their respective players. The two IPL franchises can each select three players from this list ahead of the auctions.

When and where can you watch the IPL auction in 2022?

The IPL super auction will take place in late December or early January, and it will be broadcast live on Star Sports Network and Hotstar.