The Gujarat Titans defeated the Rajasthan Royals to win the coveted T20 championship in their maiden season in front of more than 140,000 spectators at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on Sunday.

Here’s a look at the season’s best performances based on a variety of criteria:

Jos Buttler

Awards: Most Valuable Player, Orange Cap, Super Sixes, Most Fours, Power Player, Gamechanger

Well, the 31-year-old English cricketer had a fantastic season and came out of the IPL 2022 wealthier. During the presentation ceremony, he was called up to the stage the most (by far) times, including for the Most Valuable Player of the Season award. This season, Butler was well ahead of the pack in terms of run-scoring. He tied with Virat Kohli in 2016 for the second-highest total of all time. With four tonnes, he tied Kohli’s 2016 record for most hundreds struck in a season.

Yuzvendra Chahal

Awards: Purple cap

Despite heavy opposition from fellow leggie Wanindu Hasaranga, the RR spinner finished the season with the most wickets after appearing in the final. Chahal was locked with Hasaranga for the Purple Cap coming into the championship match, with the RCB player having the superior economy rate, but he dismissed Gujarat Titans captain Hardik Pandya with a beauty to put himself ahead. While Buttler was RR’s standout batsman, Chahal was the team’s most consistent bowler throughout the season, contributing significantly to the team’s success.

Evin Lewis

Award: Best catch

There were a lot of candidates for this award, but Evin Lewis of the Lucknow Super Giants was chosen the winner for his sensational dismissal of Rinku Singh in the match against Kolkata Knight Riders. With Singh batting on a spectacular 40 off only 14 deliveries, Kolkata just needed three runs off two deliveries to win. The left-handed pitcher attempted to end the game with a huge hit, but he miscued it. Lewis, who was assigned to deep point, dashed in at full speed and grabbed the ball with one hand in a stunning display. His contribution helped LSG win by two runs and put an end to KKR’s season.

Lockie Ferguson

Award: Fastest delivery of the season

Even last year, the indisputable quickest bowlers were Lockie Ferguson and Umran Malik, according to the list of honors following IPL 2021. And, once again, the two dominated and were far ahead of the competition this season. Malik had a fantastic season with Sunrisers Hyderabad, and before the final, he recorded the quickest delivery of the tournament. Ferguson, on the other hand, won the award in the final with a 157.3 kmph thunderbolt to Jos Buttler.

Dinesh Karthik

Award: Super Striker

Karthik had a remarkable IPL 2022 campaign, which was undoubtedly a great plus for Royal Challengers Bangalore and Indian cricket in general. The Super Striker award is presented to the player who faced at least 100 pitches and had the greatest batting strike rate. Karthik beat out Punjab King’s dasher Liam Livingstone for this title, having played a lot of high-impact innings for RCB during the season, being not-out a stunning ten times.

Umran Malik

Award: Emerging player of the season

Sunrisers Hyderabad didn’t make the playoffs this season, but they have a lot of good things going for them, one of which is Malik. The right-arm bowler finished fourth on the season’s most wicket-takers list with 22 wickets in 14 innings. SRH utilized him as an all-around middle-overs strike bowler, and his blistering speed and tenacity worried hitters. Without a doubt, the 22-year-old is a tremendous talent, and receiving the renowned Emerging Player Award would substantially boost his self-assurance. He also earned the prize for the quickest delivery of the match in every game he participated in.