Gujarat Titans won IPL 2022 with a devastating 7-wicket victory against Rajasthan Royals at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on Sunday. Hardik Pandya took 3 for 17 and then struck a 30-ball 34. This summer, the Gujarat Titans, in their first season in the Indian Premier League, were ruthless. They won 10 of their 14 matches to finish first in the points table, and then beat Rajasthan Royals in Qualifier 1 to earn a position in the final.

Gujarat Titans were the more superior squad in the championship match after Hardik Pandya led from the front. GT lost two early wickets, but Hardik put up a 63-run partnership with top-scorer Shubman Gill (45 not out) to guide his team to victory in the final and the title. On 32, David Miller, who was one of GT’s unsung heroes in a good season, stayed unblemished. Hardik Pandya bowled well, grabbing 3 for 17 in 4 overs to demolish the Rajasthan Royals batting order. Sanju Samson, Jos Buttler, and Shimron Hetmyer were among the wickets he took to restrict them to 130 for 9 in 20 overs.

Rashid Khan outperformed himself once again. On a sluggish pitch, he struggled to get away and ended with 1 for 18 from four overs. GT completed a clinical bowling effort with two wickets from Sai Kishore. The Titans got off to a bad start as Prasidh Krishna removed Wriddhiman Saha for 5 from 7 balls as they chased 131 for an IPL championship in their inaugural season. Saha had a solid summer with GT, but he didn’t make the playoffs after being disqualified for a duck in Qualifier 2.

David Miller, who was at Gill’s side throughout the tournament, fulfilled his job as finisher flawlessly game after game as GT finished first in the points standings and then went on to win Qualifier 1 to secure their spot in the final. Hardik Pandya struck in his first over, dismissing his RR rival Sanju Samson for 14 off 11 balls, before dismissing RR top-scorer Buttler for 39 and the dangerous Hetmyer for 11 off 12 balls.

Meanwhile, Devdutt Padikkal, who struggled to a 10-ball 2, was defeated by Rashid Khan. From his four overs, the GT leg-spinner took 1 for 18 runs. Sai Kishore was costly in his two overs, going for 20 runs, although he did manage to get R Ashwin and Trent Boult out. Riyan Parag was removed by Mohammed Shami off the final ball of the RR innings after failing to knock more than one four in his 15-ball 15. Lockie Fergusson, who took over for Alzarri Joseph in the final, bowled three overs for 22 runs without getting a wicket, however he did surpass Umran Malik’s IPL 2022 record for the quickest ball.

Jos Buttler ended the season with 863 runs, four hundreds, and four fifties in 17 games. He is currently second only to Virat Kohli on the record of hitters with the most runs in a single IPL season, with 973 runs in 2016. Butler also equaled Virat Kohli’s record for most hundreds in the same edition of the Indian Premier League during a dream innings.