Due to the introduction of a new COVID-19 strain in the rainbow nation, there has been a lot of commotion about the fate of India’s scheduled trip to South Africa. The Omicron variety, which has been spreading fast in many African countries, has been designated by the World Health Organization (WHO). The South African government was forced to enforce a travel ban as a result of the same. Meanwhile, India was supposed to begin a full-fledged tour of South Africa on December 17, which would include three Tests, as many ODIs, and four T20I matches. The schedule was changed due to a disagreement between the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) and Cricket South Africa (CSA). The four-match T20I series has been postponed while the dates have been modified.

According to ESPNcricinfo, the first Test will begin on December 26 rather than December 17. While the locations for the updated series are yet to be determined, the first game, a Boxing Day Test match, will be held at SuperSport Park in Centurion. The second Test will begin on January 3 in Johannesburg, while the third will begin on January 11 or 12 in Cape Town, which will also host all three One-Day Internationals. These locations were chosen even before the new variety was introduced. While CSA has maintained the same locations, the whole itinerary has yet to be finalized. Due to logistical and operational reasons, the second Test may be held at the Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg.

The BCCI secretary Jay Shah previously announced that the rescheduled tour will consist of three Tests and as many ODIs as the original tour, with the T20Is to be played later. “The BCCI has confirmed to CSA that the Indian squad will play three Tests and three One-Day Internationals.” Cricbuzz quoted Shah as saying, “The remaining four T20Is would be played at a later period.” Meanwhile, South Africa hasn’t been particularly successful in the longer format recently. As a result, it would be intriguing to observe how they deal with the tough Indian team.

The AGM also approved five-day Tests for the women’s squad, who had previously mostly played four-day matches. The Tours, Fixtures and Technical Committee, the Umpires Committee, and the Differently Abled Cricket Committee have all been formed by the BCCI. Match officials and support workers can now be 65 years old instead of 60, depending on their fitness.