India’s 15-man squad for the T20 World Cup in 2021 has been declared. In the absence of Washington Sundar, Ravichandran Ashwin has been named to the squad. In 2017, Ashwin last played a Twenty20 International against the West Indies in Kingston, Jamaica. In 2016, the offspinner was a part of the T20 World Cup, where he took four wickets in five matches.

Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, and Varun Chakravarthy have also been included to the squad, while Shreyas Iyer, Shardul Thakur, and Deepak Chahar have been named as standbys. Suryakumar and Ishan Kishan made their debuts in the home series against England earlier this year, and Chakravarthy made his debut in the white-ball series against Sri Lanka.

Shikhar Dhawan, who recently captained the limited-overs side in Sri Lanka, is a significant absentee, and Prithvi Shaw has also been left out by the selectors. The regular openers are Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul, with skipper Virat Kohli available at the top of the order.

The speed attack will be led by Jasprit Bumrah, with Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Mohammed Shami as the other quicks. The other speed option is Pandya, who has begun bowling since the Sri Lanka series. MS Dhoni, India’s former captain, will also serve as a mentor during the T20 World Cup, according to BCCI secretary Jay Shah.

On October 24, India will play against Pakistan in the T20 World Cup in Dubai. On October 31, they’ll face New Zealand at the same site, and on November 3, they’ll face Afghanistan in Abu Dhabi. India will play five games in the group stage, with the final two games taking place on November 5 and 8 against two of the four teams who qualified via the qualifiers.

India squad

Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma (vc), KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Rahul Chahar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Varun Chakravarthy, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami.

Standby players:

Shreyas Iyer, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar.