India wrapped up New Zealand in just 45 minutes at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on Monday, clinching the two-Test series 1-0. Spinners Jayant Yadav and R Ashwin each claimed four wickets, five of them combined on the fourth morning. Overnight batsmen Henry Nicholls and Rachin Ravindra calmed the nerves before Jayant removed the latter, then picked two more off consecutive deliveries and a fourth soon after. Ashwin, on the other hand, took advantage of Wriddhiman Saha’s reflex stumping to take the final wicket as India cruised to victory.

India’s largest win margin in Test cricket is 372 runs, beating their previous best of 337 runs against South Africa in Delhi in 2015. As a result, it is New Zealand’s largest Test defeat in terms of runs in Test cricket. Virat Kohli has been the first player to appear in 50 Test victories, 50 ODI victories, and 50 T20I victories. India has now won 14 straight Test series at home, the longest streak in the world. They last lost in 2013. Virat Kohli was in charge of 11 of the last 12 teams.

New Zealand has now failed to win a Test series against India in India in 12 attempts, with the last victory being in 1988 at the Wankhede. Ashwin took 8 wickets in the Mumbai Test, giving him 300 Test wickets at home, joining the likes of Muttiah Muralitharan (Sri Lanka), James Anderson (England), Anil Kumble (India), Stuart Broad (England), and Shane Warne (Australia) in an exclusive group. He is now only one wicket behind Kumble (350 wickets) among Indians, and he is also the second-fastest Indian to achieve the 300-wicket club, having done so in his 49th Test at home, one behind Muralitharan. Ashwin now has 66 wickets in the India-New Zealand Test series, overtaking the great Richard Hadlee for the best rank among wicket-takers (65 wickets).