The ICC announced on Wednesday that India will play Pakistan in the 2022 Women’s ODI World Cup, which will begin on March 4 in New Zealand. The first round of games will include two major rivalries: Australia will face defending champions England at Seddon Park in Hamilton on March 5 and last year’s runners-up India will face Pakistan in Tauranga on March 6.

There will be a total of 31 games played over the course of 31 days, with the eight teams competing for the coveted World Cup trophy. The tournament will be held in six cities: Auckland, Christchurch, Dunedin, Hamilton, Tauranga, and Wellington. Australia, England, South Africa, and India qualified for the tournament based on their finishes in the ICC Women’s Championship 2017-20, while hosts New Zealand qualified automatically.

After the Women’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier was canceled owing to Covid-related uncertainties, Bangladesh, Pakistan, and the West Indies were the final three nations to book their World Cup berths based on team rankings. The event will be held in a league format, with each of the eight teams facing each other once, with the top four teams qualifying for the semifinals.

The first semi final will take place on March 30 at The Basin Reserve in Wellington, with the second semifinal on March 31 at The Hagley Oval in Christchurch and the final on April 3 at The Hagley Oval in Christchurch. There will be a reserve day for both the semi-finals and the finals. The T20 World Cup in Australia in March 2020 was the most recent global women’s event, with the hosts winning by defeating India in the final. India will travel to New Zealand before the World Cup, which will provide excellent preparation for the huge event.

In 2021, India’s women played 11 One-Day Internationals (ODIs), winning only three. While the Mithali Raj-led squad was defeated 4-1 at home by South Africa, they were defeated 2-1 on the road by England and Australia.