The International Cricket Council announced the Super 12 groupings, with Group 2 consisting of India, Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan, and two more teams from Round 1 of the tournament. India will be looking to defend its unbeaten World Cup record (12-0) against Pakistan, with the two arch-rivals once again being placed in the same group for the upcoming T20 World Cup in the UAE.

According to the International Cricket Council, the Super 12 Groups were chosen based on team rankings as of March 20, 2021.

Each group will include two teams from the qualifying rounds. The first round will include eight teams, including automatic qualifiers Sri Lanka and Bangladesh, as well as the remaining six nations who qualified via the ICC men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier 2019.

After being moved out of India because of the COVID-19 outbreak, the tournament will be held in the United Arab Emirates and Oman. The competition will begin on October 17 and end on November 14 with the final match. The matches will be held at four different locations: Dubai International Stadium, Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi, Sharjah Stadium, and the Oman Cricket Academy Ground, with the schedule to be released soon.

Group 1

England, Australia, South Africa, West Indies, Winner Group A, Runner-up Group B

Group 2

India, Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan, Runner-up Group A, Winner Group B

Group A

Sri Lanka, Ireland, Netherlands, Namibia

Group B

Bangladesh, Scotland, Papua New Guinea, Oman