Later on Friday night, the BCCI’s All-India Senior Selection Committee released the 17-person team for the upcoming Border-Gavaskar series against Australia at home. The series, which will start on February 9 in Nagpur, will be the team’s last match in the current World Test Championship cycle. As India and Australia get ready for a new kind of match, BCCI also announced that the regular four-Test series as part of the Border-Gavaskar series will be ending.

According to a release from the BCCI, “This will also be the final edition of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy which will be a 4-match Test series feature.” It has long been discussed to transform the Border-Gavaskar series from a four-match competition to five Tests.

Since India visited Australia in 2003/04, the Border-Gavaskar Trophy has been a four-Test series, with the 2010/11 match being the sole exception since it was a two-Test match. Five Tests were last played as a part of a series in 1991–1992.

The Men’s FTP cycle for 2023–27, which comprises two sets of five-match series for the Border–Gavaskar Trophy in the following cycles of the ICC World Test Championship, was first issued by the ICC in August of last year. In the 2023–25 cycle of the WTC, Australia will host India for the first five-match Border–Gavaskar series, with a reciprocal visit scheduled for the 2025–27 season.

Regarding the series, India has called up Ishan Kishan to replace Rishabh Pant, with KS Bharat probably being the team’s first-choice wicketkeeper. Suryakumar Yadav has also been added to the roster. Jaydev Unadkat will get yet another chance since Jasprit Bumrah won’t be present. All-rounder Ravindra Jadeja’s participation in the squad is “dependent on fitness,” though.